Day 217 of 365

Mother Nature is quite amazing; not that I didn’t know it before, but I just had the best first hand experience in my own back yard! It started when my mom showed up this past February, she saw the monstrose cactus had some limbs that were bent over…she asked me why I hadn’t done anything about them. So one day I cut off the bent over limbs; the only problem was that one of them landed between 2 thorny arms of another cactus plant and got wedged there. I tried using a shovel to lift it from its captors to no avail.

Fast forward to late last week. I was checking out the monstrose cactus to see if there were any buds starting to show – there were 3, and that got me excited. Then, when looking from the side I happened to glance over where the wedged piece is still hanging in there. A flower bud that was about 4″ long! OMG!! It’s not being fed by any part of the plant. Well, guess what? Yesterday afternoon I saw that it would be blooming last night. I didn’t feel like going out and taking pictures in the dark, so I waited until this morning.

I took some macros with my Fuji XT-3 with the Lensbaby Velvet 56 lens, and I also took some slow shutter photos with my iPhone SE using the Slow Shutter Cam app. I liked the way this one came out after cropping it to a square and running it through the Mextures app to process the photo.

Sun Flower
Sun Flower

Photo Info

  • iPhone SE
  • Slow Shutter Cam app
  • Focal Length: 4.15mm
  • ISO: 32
  • Aperture: f/2.2
  • Shutter Speed: 8 seconds
  • Exposure Compensation: 0.0EV

Post Processing Info

Photo was processed on my iPad Pro in Mextures

217 days down, 148 to go!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star